Mass Communication Trends


My mass communication consumption and habits are fairly consistent with that of a high school teeny bopper. Although I don’t frequent Snapchat and rarely “reshare” meaningless content, I am addicted to LinkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook. I visit those mass communication platforms more regularly than a person probably ought to for personal leisure. I enjoy the platform provided by Vimeo and YouTube, but I don’t utilize them as frequently as I feel I should to disseminate my own content.

Mass communication has changed the very way I interact in everyday life. I used to exclusively be a consumer of media. Over the past few years, nearly every mass communication platform has evolved to allow end users to become greater contributors and not just consumers. This is something I’ve enjoyed in my personal use of those advancements.

I’m studying communication for my undergraduate degree. mass communication is a part of the essential classes I need to take. However, I’m not just trapped in this course. Understanding communication on all levels is something I enjoy pursuing. I’m a middle manager at a small disaster restoration company and have my own small photo booth company on the side. Both of which allow me to practice/improve my array of communication skills, including the use of mass communication platforms.

Update June 28, 2014 8:20PM: After reading a peer’s post on this topic, I had a response that I thought would be worth sharing here.

Having too much information at our finger tips and becoming distracted is a very real struggle. Even as I type this, I’m getting notifications left and right tempting me to respond. It reminds me of a video I was recently shown.

Is this “overload” of information at such an extreme that it is literally damaging to humanity? Or is this possibly just another phase of the evolutionary cycle that we have yet to come to terms with? Think about it, we say now that there was once a time when you had to actually pick up the phone to get in touch with a friend or family member. People of that generation abhor our generations quick messaging and check ins. But go back even further and you might find a time when people would be disgusted with the “ease” of just picking up a phone. They might say, “Back in my day, if I wanted to speak with Odysseus, I had to procure a ship that could travel across the great sea and then travel the 400 miles inland by foot.” Was the invention of the phone such a bad thing to have happen? Maybe our current method of communication and mass communication will be looked at as inconvenient 50 years from now when our clones and sending holographic messages to us through telepathy.

Share your thoughts:

