April 2012 General Conference Wrap-up; Sunday Sessions


This weekend is the 182 Annual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Today was the second and final day of the conference and consisted of the two sessions; one in the morning and one in the afternoon. If you missed any, or all, of the sessions from this General Conference, you can find archived sessions to watch, listen to or read.

Here are some of my highlights from these two sessions of the conference:

Sunday Morning Session

President Uchtdorf

  • I must repent, and I must be willing to forgive others.
  • Passing judgment on others is inexcusable.
  • Refusing to forgive is a grievous sin.
  • I simply have to stop judging others, and replace that judgment with a heart full of love for God and His children.
  • “Don’t judge me because I sin differently than you.”
  • If I want to draw nearer to God I must rid myself of pride and stop passing unrighteous judgment on others.
  • The pure love of Christ can remove the scales of resentment and wrath over my eyes.
  • It is the merciful that obtain mercy.

Elder Nelson

  • Sometimes we live day-to-day, unaware of God’s blessings. We must learn to recognize His hand.
  • Family is the most important social unit in time and in eternity.
  • The aspects by which I will be judged one day are all spiritual. Developing those spiritual attributes is essential to my eternal progress.
  • The spirit is nurtured by eternal truth. I must focus my efforts on nurturing my spirit.
  • Each day, mine is the challenge to access the powers of the Atonement.

Elder Rasband

  • Some of the sweetest spirits are housed in frail frames.
  • This life is training for eternal exaltation, and that process means tests and trials.
  • If I come across one who is drowning would I ask if he needed help?
  • Renew my commitment to Heavenly Father and to His service.
  • Sister Beck
  • It is important to build into my life the pattern of regular service in the church.

Elder Christofferson

  • There is no debate or ability to contest the pure doctrine of Christ. Interpreting and understanding doctrine is a matter of divine revelation.
  • There are no common men. God is not a respecter of persons.
  • The Spirit will testify of the truthfulness of what is taught by the Brethren of the Church.

President Monson

  • Eternal truths will enrich our lives and see us safely home.
  • Do I pause to listen to the Spirit for eternal truths?
  • The most important treasures in life are those that cannot be taken nor corrupted by others, for they are stored up in heaven.
  • In a thousand ways, I am privileged to make decisions for myself.
  • There are consequences attached to my actions.
  • The prize belongs to him who endures to the end.
  • We have been provided with divine attributes to guide our destiny.
  • This life is training for eternal exaltation, and that process means tests and trials.

Sunday Afternoon Session

Elder Perry

  • Boldly declare my faith. Declare it to my friends, my family, strangers, and myself.
  • Read the Book of Mormon and look for the theme of deliverance.
  • Sometimes the Lord doesn’t see fit to deliver His people out of deliverance.
  • I must prepare myself to be worthy to receive deliverance of Heavenly Father.

Elder Ballard

  • It is through the promptings of the Holy Ghost that we can be brought back to the right path. It is through the Atonement of Jesus Christ that we can return home.
  • It is my home and family that needs reforming, not to societal standards, but to heavenly standards.
  • When I make commitments to values and Heavenly Father I will be more prone to live a successful life.
  • The most important cause of my life is my family.
  • The Church stands as a symbol of heart turning.
  • Life is much better when ideals of living and standards are geared to those of the Church.
  • Husbands and wives should be equal partners in marriage. Avoid unrighteous dominion in any way or form.
  • Anyone married or single can have a happy and supportive experience in whatever his or her family circumstance is.
  • If I have lost my way I can apply the Savior’s teachings of the parables of the prodigal son, the woman looking for the lost coin, and the lost sheep.
  • I can always have the Holy Ghost as my spiritual GPS to tall me where I am and where I am going.

Elder Haleck

  • “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”
  • Fast and pray to know how I can handle my circumstances.
  • Focus my vision on the teachings of the Savior. He has a great vision of who I can become.

Elder Wilson

  • I cannot use the Priesthood to exercise control, dominion, or by compulsion. It can only be used in righteousness.
  • I must respect the agency of others.
  • Wise parents prepare their children to get along without them.
  • I must act as prescribed in Doctrine and Covenants Section 121.

Elder Evans

  • I must naturally and normally share the message of the gospel.
  • Whenever a person is brought to the gospel, it is rarely just one person who comes to the gospel.

Elder Pieper

  • Recognize the hand of God in all things and remember to give Him thanks.
  • Sacred things are to have greater priority and worthy of more careful attention.
  • If I chose to abandon even one sacred thing, my mind will become darkened until I repent.

Elder Andersen

  • Discipleship is not a competition; it is an invitation to all.
  • I may not be at my very best every day, but the Savior is willing and able to help bear my burden.

President Monson

  • The gospel provides answers, support, and guidance in my life.
  • Pray always and Heavenly Father will pour out His blessings upon me.
  • Settle any disputations and disagreements now.
  • Ponder the truths I have heard and allow them to make me better than I was before.
Share your thoughts:

