‘Writing’ in the New Year


I recently made a call out on several social platforms for my friends and followers to become a better writer with me by ‘writing’ in the New Year.

One quick search for #NewYearsResolution on Twitter will vindicate the time honored tradition of setting new goals for personal improvement during the new year. Some enjoy the chance to create annual aspirations; yet others pass up the opportunity without flinching. I used to be one of those who wouldn’t give the notion of setting yearly goals a second thought. Recently, my thoughts have been reversed thanks to an e-book I’ve been reading (The Flinch, by Julien Smith).

Purpose in the moment and in life have constantly aroused my thoughts in setting goals. Unfortunately, those goals tend to find their way to the back burner and eventually are forgotten altogether. Whether this is because of a lack of motivation or a fear to reach outside my comfort zone doesn’t matter too much for now. The fact that I wasn’t accomplishing nearly as much as I had the potential to hit me this morning. That’s when I made the decision.

Writing has been a challenge for me as far back as I can remember. It has honestly terrified me at times. My #NewYearsResolution is to conquer this obstacle. To do this I have committed to write 366 new posts to this blog. That’s right… one post a day for the entire year (2012 is a leap year; hence 366 posts instead of 365). For me, this will be no small task. For that very reason I am requesting the help of all those who wish to enlist in the cause of becoming a better writer by not fearing the assignment and to write more.

Thanks to all those who have already decided they will take part in this adventure and help me to be held more accountable in my efforts. If you are up to the task, please let me know and send me a link to your blog so I can follow you and help keep you on course as well.

Share your thoughts:

